

# **Minutes of Meeting**

November 6-7, 2014 National Housing Center 1201 15<sup>th</sup> Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005

The following Consensus Committee members, guests, and staff were present for all or part of the meeting:

## **Consensus Committee Members and Alternates**

Stephen Adams Paula Marie Cino Sean S. Devlin Charles Foster Jeff Inks Nancy McNabb Tim Pate Chad Riedy Robert D. Ross (Chair) Ryan Taylor Jeremiah Williams Steven Armstrong Charles C. Cottrell Matthew Dobson Miles Haber Neil P. Leslie Hope Medina Jerry Phelan Maribeth S. Rizzuto David Shepherd Theresa A. Weston Kenneth Bland Michael Cudahy Shirley Ellis (Vice Chair) Mike Hodgson R. Christopher Mathis (Vice Chair) Randall K. Melvin Donald Prather Steven Rosenstock Frank Stanonik Steven White

Committee Members absent: David S. Collins, Steve Easley, Rob Howard, Josh Jacobs, Sid Koltun, Darren Port, Wayne H. Stoppelmoor, and Paul Sullivan

#### <u>Alternates</u>

Ian Bukowski

Sam Francis

#### Guests

Debbie Bassert Craig Conner Eric DeVito Mike Fischer Bob Hill Eric Lacey Kevin Morrow Lorraine Ross Don Surrena Howard Wiig

Kat Benner Laverne Dalgleish Rehan Ehsan Arron Gary Terry Hill Stephen Meima Cai Owens Kelly Scanlon Bruce Swiecicki John Woestman Allan Bilka (ICC Staff Liaison) Michelle Desiderio Bert Etheredge (ASHRAE Staff Liaison) Susan Gitlin Greg Johnson Rachel Minnery Andrea Papageorge Tom Stroud Don Whyte (TG-2 Chair) Claire Worshtil

#### <u>Staff</u>

Kevin Kauffman

Vladimir Kochkin

**Cindy Wasser** 

### I. Chairman's Opening Remarks (November 6, 2014)

Robert Ross convened the meeting on Thursday November 6, 2014 at 8:05 am.

Introductions (November 6, 2014)
Committee members, staff, and guests introduced themselves and stated the entities they represent.

### III. Approval of Agenda (November 6, 2014)

Meeting agenda was unanimously approved.

#### IV. Approval of Minutes (November 6, 2014)

Minutes of the June 9-10, 2014 meeting of the Consensus Committee and Task Groups were unanimously approved.

### V. Review of the 2015 NGBS Revision Process (November 6, 2014)

Vladimir Kochkin, Committee Secretary, discussed the process and the procedure for the meeting. (A one-pager with the Basic Rules and Procedures for the meeting was circulated to the committee ahead of the meeting and was also available to all members at the meeting.) The hearing order, process for the Consent Agenda, and voting protocol were discussed in detail including examples of typical situations. Vladimir Kochkin provided an overview of the next steps in the process including the committee letter ballot on the Formal Actions, development of the Draft Standard, public comment period, review and update of point system, update of the reference documents, and processing of public comments.

### **IV.** Formal Actions on Proposed Changes (November 6-7, 2014)

The Consensus Committee adopted a Formal Action (Approve, Approve as Modified, or Disapprove) on each of the 394 Proposed Changes that were submitted by the public, task groups, or committee members. The Consent Agenda items were voted on in blocks by chapter. Prior to addressing each chapter Robert Ross asked if anyone present (member or guest) would like to remove any items in that chapter from the Consent Agenda. Each Proposed Change was introduced by the Task Group Chair (or their representative) responsible for the Chapter. The Task Group Chair would first motion to Approve, Approve as Modified, or Disapprove in accordance with the Task Group Recommendation which was followed by discussion and resolution by the entire Consensus Committee. Once each proposed change removed from the Consent Agenda had been acted on, the Task Group Chair (or their representative) moved to accept all Task Group Recommendations for items on the Approved & Approved as Modified Consent Agenda. Following this action, the Task Group Chair (or their representative) moved to accept all Task Group Recommendations for items on the Disapproved Consent Agenda. This process was repeated for each chapter block. The meeting was open to the public and visitors were provided an opportunity to address the committee.

### V. Other Meeting Activity (November 7, 2014)

Prior to discussing Chapter 7 proposed changes, a motion was made and seconded to make 2015 IECC baseline for the energy section of the 2015 NGBS – Passed. Vladimir Kochkin noted that this motion was only advisory in nature and the motion provided guidance to the

committee for the following discussion of the specific proposed changes addressing this topic. Because the motion was not associated with a specific proposed change, it would not be letter balloted or result in a separate change to the Standard.

A motion was made and seconded requesting Home Innovation Research Labs to perform energy modeling to analyze points for the Chapter 7 Prescriptive Path (Section 703) based on the approved changes – Passed. Vladimir Kochkin noted that the Home Innovation will work with Task Group 5 on reviewing and approving the results of the analysis. In answering a question from the committee, he confirmed that the intent is to retain the scale of 0.5 points per a percent of energy efficiency gain. Kochkin also noted that analysis will not cover points in Sections 704 and 705. Those points will be assigned by Task Group based on their assessment of the degree of benefit.

### VI. Next Meeting (November 7, 2014)

The next meeting was discussed and is planned to occur in June of 2015. The second week of June was discussed as a tentative option for the next meeting. Task Groups will continue their work via conference calls as needed.

# X. Adjournment (November 7, 2014)

Robert Ross thanked everyone for their participation, hard work, and commitment to the improvement of the National Green Building Standard. The meeting was adjourned by Robert Ross at 5:58 pm on Friday November 7, 2014.

Respectfully submitted,

Vladimir Kochkin, Committee Secretary