

National Green Building Standard™ **2015 UPDATE**

Minutes of Meeting

June 18-19, 2015

National Housing Center

1201 15th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005

The following Consensus Committee members, guests, and staff were present for all or part of the meeting:

Consensus Committee Members and Alternates

Stephen Adams Steven Armstrong Dana Bres Paula Marie Cino **Charles Cottrell** Michael Cudahy Sean Delvin Matthew Dobson Steve Easley Shirley Ellis (Vice Chair) **Charles Foster** Sam Francis Miles Haber Mike Hodgson **Rob Howard** R. Christopher Mathis (Vice Chair) Jeff Inks Neil Leslie

Nancy McNabbHope MedinaRandall K. MelvinRachel MinneryJerry PhelanMaribeth S. RizzutoSteven RosenstockRobert Ross (Chair)David ShepherdKristopher StengerWayne H. Stoppelmoor, Jr.Ryan TaylorTheresa A. WestonSteven WhiteJeremiah Williams

Committee Members absent: Josh Jacobs, Sid Koltun, Tim Pate, Darren Port, Donald Prather, Chad Riedy, Frank Stanonik, and Paul Sullivan.

Guests

Chuck Arnold Allan Bilka (ICC Staff Liaison) Craig Conner

Michelle Desiderio Craig Drumheller Bert Etheredge (ASHRAE Staff

Liaison)

Aaron Gary Crystal Gitchell Susan Gitlin
Greg Johnson Eric Lacey George Phelps
Kent Sovocool Tom Stroud Howard Wiig

<u>Staff</u>

Kevin Kauffman Vladimir Kochkin Cindy Wasser

John Woestman

I. Chairman's Opening Remarks (June 18, 2015)

Robert Ross convened the meeting on Thursday June 18, 2015 at 8:05 am.

II. Introductions (June 18, 2015)

Committee members, staff, and guests introduced themselves and stated the entities they represent.

III. Approval of Agenda (June 18, 2015)

Meeting agenda was unanimously approved.

IV. Approval of Minutes (June 18, 2015)

Minutes of the November 6-7, 2014 meeting of the Consensus Committee and Task Groups were unanimously approved.

V. Review of the 2015 NGBS Revision Process (June 18, 2015)

Vladimir Kochkin, Committee Secretary, discussed the process and the procedure for the meeting. (A one-pager with the Basic Rules and Procedures for the meeting was circulated to the committee ahead of the meeting and was also available to all members at the meeting.) The hearing order, process for the Consent Agenda, and voting protocol were discussed in detail including examples of typical situations. Vladimir Kochkin provided an overview of the next steps in the process including the committee letter ballot on the Formal Actions, development of the Second Draft Standard, public comment period, concurrent balloting, and combined circulation period for public and ballot comments.

VI. Formal Actions on Proposed Changes (June 18-19, 2015)

The Consensus Committee adopted a Formal Action (Accept, Accept as Modified, or Disapprove) on each of the 192 Public Comments that were submitted by the public, task groups, or committee members. The Consent Agenda items were voted on in blocks by chapter. Prior to addressing each chapter Robert Ross asked if anyone present (member or guest) would like to remove any items in that chapter from the Consent Agenda. Each Public Comment was introduced by the Task Group Chair (or their representative) responsible for the Chapter. The Task Group Chair would first motion to Approve, Approve as Modified, or Disapprove in accordance with the Task Group Recommendation which was followed by discussion and resolution by the entire Consensus Committee. Once each Public Comment removed from the Consent Agenda had been acted on, the Task Group Chair (or their representative) moved to accept all Task Group Recommendations for items on the Approved, Approved as Modified, & Disapproved Consent Agenda for the specific chapter of the standard. This process was repeated for each chapter. The meeting was open to the public and visitors were provided an opportunity to address the committee.

VII. Closing Statement (June 19, 2015)

Vladimir Kochkin summarized the next steps again and thanked the committee members for their hard work and dedication to the 2015 NGBS update.

VIII. Adjournment (June 19, 2015)

Robert Ross thanked everyone for their participation, hard work, and commitment to the improvement of the National Green Building Standard. The meeting was adjourned by Robert Ross at 11:25 am on Friday June 19, 2015.

Respectfully submitted,
Vladimir Kochkin,
Committee Secretary
Kevin Kauffman,
Committee Staff