

National Green Building Standard[™] 2015 UPDATE

Minutes of Meeting

September 21, 2015 Webinar and Teleconference

The following Consensus Committee members, guests, and staff were present for all or part of the meeting:

Consensus Committee Members and Alternates

Steven Armstrong Paula Marie Cino Matthew Dobson Miles Haber Jeff Inks Nancy McNabb Rachel Minnery Chad Riedy Frank Stanonik Theresa A. Weston Kenneth Bland Charles C. Cottrell Shirley Ellis (Vice Chair) Mike Hodgson Neil P. Leslie Hope Medina Jerry Phelan Steven Rosenstock Kristopher Ryan Stenger Jeremiah Williams Dana Bres Michael Cudahy Charles Foster Rob Howard R. Christopher Mathis (Vice Chair) Randall K. Melvin Donald Prather Robert D. Ross (Chair) Wayne H. Stoppelmoor

Committee Members Absent: Stephen Adams, Sean S. Devlin, Steve Easley, Josh Jacobs, Sid Koltun, Tim Pate, Darren Port, Maribeth S. Rizzuto, David Shepherd, Paul Sullivan, Ryan Taylor, Steven White, Ted Arthur Williams

Guests

Allan Bilka (ICC Staff Liaison) Ben Edwards Stephanie Reiniche Craig Conner Arron Gary Iain Walker Craig Drumheller Tom Kenny

Staff

Kevin Kauffman

Vladimir Kochkin

Nay Shah

I. Chairman's Opening Remarks (September 21, 2015)

Robert Ross convened the meeting on Monday September 21, 2015 at 1:05 pm and introductory remarks.

II. Roll Call (September 21, 2015)

Kevin Kauffman took roll recording every member that was present on the teleconference.

III. Webinar Protocol Presentation (September 21, 2015)

Vladimir Kochkin explained in detail how to use the different features of the webinar platform, including but not limited to instructions on how to properly enter an audio pin, how to raise hand to request to speak, and how to ask private or public questions to the Home Innovation staff. He informed the committee members that voting on each motion would be captured by a poll system built into the webinar software. Each poll question was a simple yes or no question. Answering "Yes" indicated that you agreed with the motion on the floor, while answering "No" indicated that you did not agree with the motion on the floor. He informed the committee members that if they wished to abstain from a vote, they should not answer the poll.

IV. Meeting Process (September 21, 2015)

The hearing order, process for the Consent Agenda, and voting protocol were discussed in detail including examples of typical situations. Vladimir Kochkin provided an overview of the next steps in the process including the committee letter ballot on the Formal Actions, development of the Second Draft Standard, concurrent public comment period, and combined circulation ballot for both public and ballot comments .

V. Formal Actions on Proposed Changes (September 21, 2015)

The Consensus Committee adopted a Formal Action (Accept, Accept as Modified, or Disapprove) on each of the 13 Ballot Comments that were submitted by committee members. Prior to addressing any of the Ballot Comments, Robert Ross asked if anyone present (member or guest) would like to remove any items from the Consent Agenda. A total of 7 items were removed from the Consent Agenda. Each Ballot Comment was introduced by the Task Group Chair (or their representative) responsible for the Chapter. The Task Group Chair's first motion (Accept, Accept as Modified, or Disapprove) was in accordance with the Task Group Recommendation, which was followed by discussion and vote by the entire Consensus Committee. At the request of a committee member, a roll call vote was used to confirm the results of one electronic vote. Once each Ballot Comment removed from the Consent Agenda had been acted on, it was moved to accept all Task Group Recommendations for all items remaining on the Consent Agenda. The meeting was open to the public and visitors were provided an opportunity to address the committee.

VI. Closing Statement (September 21, 2015)

Vladimir Kochkin thanked the committee members for their hard work and dedication to the 2015 NGBS update.

VII. Adjournment (September 21, 2015)

Robert Ross asked if anyone wished to speak. Nobody requested the floor. He then thanked everyone for their participation, hard work, and commitment to the improvement of the National Green Building Standard. The meeting was adjourned by Robert Ross at 3:48 pm on Monday September 21, 2015.

Respectfully submitted,

Vladimir Kochkin, Committee Secretary

> Kevin Kauffman, Committee Staff