

National Green Building Standard™ 2015 UPDATE

Minutes of Meeting

June 9-10, 2014
National Housing Center
1201 15th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005

The following Consensus Committee members, Task Group members, guests, and staff were present for all or part of the meeting:

Consensus Committee Members and Alternates

Chad Riedy Charles C. Cottrell **Charles Foster** Dana Bres David Shepherd **Donald Prather** Frank Stanonik Hope Medina Jeff Inks Jeremiah Williams Jerry Phelan Josh Jacobs Kurt Hansen Maribeth S. Rizzuto Matthew Dobson Miles Haber Michael Cudahy Nancy McNabb Neil P. Leslie Paul Sullivan Paula Marie Cino R. Christopher Mathis (Vice Chair) Randall K. Melvin Rob Howard Robert D. Ross (Chair) Ron Nickson Ryan Taylor

Sam FrancisSean S. DevlinShirley Ellis (Vice Chair)Steve EasleySteven ArmstrongSteven RosenstockSteven WhiteTed Arthur WilliamsTheresa A. Weston

Tim Pate Wayne H. Stoppelmoor, Jr.

Committee Members absent: Darren Port, David S. Collins, Mike Hodgson, Sid Koltun, and Stephen Adams.

Task Group Members and Alternates

Aaron Gary Amber Wood **Amy Schmidt Charles Richard Titus Anthony Catana Brent Mecham Craig Charles Conner** Darrel McMaster E. Laverne Dalgleish Ed Light **Greg Johnson** Hayley King **Howard Wiig** James Michael Williams **Jack Armstrong** John E. Barrows John Forbes Joseph Gordon Jr. Kat Benner **Kathy Browning** Keith Madigan Kristopher Ryan Stenger Loren Ross **Lorraine Ross** Mike Rosen Nicholas Gadzekpo Ramesh Gulatee Randy S. Kertesz Rehan Ehsan Richard Bergman Robert L. Goo **Robert Starr Shaun Taylor** Susan Gitlin Stephen H. Meima Steven Baer Susie Maglich Tanis J. Marquette Timothy Ellis **Tracy Rogers** W. Don Whyte William H. Seeger

Task Group Members absent: Bill Freeman, Brian Puotinen, Eric M. Lehmayer, Gary Klein, Henry Krzysik, Jeff L. Sinnett, Jeff Wiblitzhouser, Katrina Rosa, Merle McBride, Rafael Munguia, Rich Franz-Under, Robert De Vries, and Wes Sullens.

Guests

Allan Bilka (ICC Staff Liaison)

Don Surrena

Eric DeVito

Greg Ceton

Michael Fischer

Bert Etheredge (ASHRAE Staff Liaison)

Eric Lacey

Gregg Achman

Thorn Zaremba

Tom Shroud

Staff

Carmel McGuireCindy WasserClair WorshtilDave MallayJoseph WiehagenKevin KauffmanMichelle DesiderioRobert HillThomas Kenney

Vladimir Kochkin (Committee Secretary)

I. Chairman's Opening Remarks (June 9, 2014)

Robert Ross convened the meeting on Monday June 9, 2014 at 8:35 am.

II. Approval of Agenda (June 9, 2014)

Meeting agenda was unanimously approved.

III. Review of the 2015 NGBS Revision Process (June 9, 2014)

Vladimir Kochkin, Committee Secretary, discussed the process and the procedures for the 2015 Update of the National Green Building Standard including the role of the Task Groups and the Consensus Committee in the development process. The presentation also included background information on the history of the development of the NGBS and its point system. The organizing principles of an ANSI-consensus process were also discussed. The tentative development schedule was presented. The deadline for Task Group members to submit new proposed changes was set for July 10, 2014. The deadline for Task Group to finalize review of all proposed changes and develop recommendation with a reason statement was set for September 10, 2014. (PowerPoint presentation is posted at www.homeinnovation.com/ngbs.)

IV. Adopting Entity Perspective (June 9, 2014)

Robert Hill, Director of the Home Innovation Research Labs Certification Programs, discussed the experience of the Home Innovation Research Labs as an Adopting Entity for the 2012 NGBS since its release in January of 2013. Mr. Hill presented statistics on the issued certifications including a detailed breakdown by performance levels. He discussed opportunities for improvement from the standpoint of implementation and verification of the green building practices including improved clarity, consistency, and inequities with regard to specific design/construction scenarios. (PowerPoint presentation is posted at www.homeinnovation.com/ngbs.)

V. Task Group Review of the Proposed Changes (June 9, 2014)

All seven Task Groups conducted individual sessions to review the assigned proposed changes. The purpose of the sessions was to initiate development of Task Group recommendations on the proposed changes.

VI. Consensus Committee Session and Initial Reports by Task Group Chairs (June 10, 2014)

On the morning of the second day of the meeting, the Consensus Committee held a general session to provide an opportunity for Task Group Chairs to (1) report on the initial progress with review of the proposed changes and (2) obtain direction from the Consensus Committee on the significant items that had broad implications on the overall development process. The following motions were made and voted on by the Consensus Committee (see table below). All votes were straw polls intended to provide Task Groups with direction for going forward in developing their recommendations. It was noted that the Consensus Committee would have a chance to discuss and vote on all items again at the next meeting.

	Motion	Action	Vote
1	Identify version of IECC code that	Passed	2009 equivalent - 0
	should be adopted as the baseline for the Energy section of the 2015 NGBS		2012 equivalent - 0
	<i>-</i> ,		2015 equivalent - 28
			Abstain - 1
2	Does the topic of Integrated	Passed	Yes - 20
	Management fit into the NGBS		No - 7 Abstain - 3

VII. Task Group Review of the Proposed Changes (June 10, 2014)

Task Groups conducted individual sessions to continue review the assigned proposed changes. The purpose of the sessions was to continue development of Task Group recommendations on the proposed changes.

VIII. Meeting of Task Group Chairs and Staff (June 10, 2014)

Task Group Chair and Vice Chairs met with staff to discuss logistical items for conducting Task Group work and reporting results to the Consensus Committee. Each Task Group Chair gave a brief report on the progress of each task group and any logistical difficulties their group was experiencing. The use of Dropbox and GoToMeeting as file distribution/sharing tools was discussed and explained. Members were reminded that the last date to submit additional proposed changes was July 10, 2014.

IX. Next Meeting

The next meeting was discussed and will occur in the late fall or early winter of 2014. The first week of November was discussed as a tentative option for the next meeting. Task Groups will continue their work via conference calls.

X. Adjournment

Task Group sessions were adjourned by Task Group Chairs on the morning or afternoon of June 10, 2014 based on work progress.

Respectfully submitted,

Vladimir Kochkin, Committee Secretary