NGBS for Single-Family
Green Homes

The NGBS provides the most rigorous, yet cost-effective, certification option for green homes.

Applying the ICC 700 National Green Building Standard to Single-Family Projects

The ICC 700 National Green Building Standard™ (NGBS) is the only residential green building rating system approved by ANSI, the American National Standards Institute, as an American National Standard. The NGBS provides practices for the design, construction, and certification of new single-family homes and renovations.

Under the NGBS, green building practices are assigned point values. A home can attain one of four performance levels — Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Emerald. For a building to attain any certification level, all of the applicable mandatory provisions must be correctly implemented. In addition to the mandatory provisions, the NGBS requires the home include sufficient green building practices in each of the six categories to meet the category minimums for each green certification level.

As an ANSI-approved green building rating system, the NGBS provides builders and consumers with a credible definition of green building. Since it provides a flexible, expansive point-based system for certification, it also offers home builders an affordable process to build green homes that meets their goals, are appropriate for their specific climate, and meet the needs of their particular market and home buyers. 


Contact us with questions about NGBS Green Certification.

Sign up for Insider Update for monthly news.

Connect with us on Twitter or LinkedIn.


ICC/ASHRAE 700 National Green Building Standard

Get your copy of the 2012 and/or 2015 National Green Building Standard from BuilderBooks.com.

Get yours today